Flashback to the 2015 Powder Video Awards – Where Former Freeride Series Athletes Are Now

3843 0

Combine the love for champaign powder with champaign (or beer) in raised glasses and you get the setting of the Powder Awards in Salt Lake City, Utah. Throwing it back to December 5, we found ourselves among the ski industry’s top athletes, cinematographers, photographers, and industry members in a night to celebrate the skiing community.

As Powder Magazine Editor, John Stifter, said, “It was an absolutely beautiful evening with the best community in the world…skiers.”

The overall tone of the evening evoked passion for life and skiing. As the late JP Auclair was announced as the winner of the 2015 Male Powder Poll, the entire house stood for an eight-minute tribute featuring the iconic skier who passed away this last season in a tragic avalanche in Chile. Every person was moved by the infectious energy he exuded on and off the mountain which transcended into the audience.

Female co-heart, ski legend and former Freeskiing World Tour competitor, Ingrid Backstrom, was honored for the 10th consecutive year as the Women’s Powder Poll recipient. “I’m speechless, it’s kind of unbelievable to be recognized among such an amazing group of women,” says Backstrom. “There have been incredible female rippers, but I’m so excited to be honored in a year that really honors such a huge group of diverse and talented women skiers.”

Speaking of ladies who rip, former Freeride Series competitor, (and dominatress a.k.a. winner) Angel Colinson, took home the Best Female Performance and top five for Powder Poll Awards. She made history as the first woman with an opening segment  in the 20-plus-year history of TGR films. If Angel’s hard-charging fierce shredding caught your eye, hold onto your seat to watch the triple-award-winning line from Cody Townsend. Talk about cleaning house! His epic straight line through an narrow Alaskan chute pulled in Best Line, Best Male Performance, and Full Throttle.

The deep powder seems to be on everyone’s mind and especially for a few lucky skiers who earned the Best Powder segment (the edit we all were drooling over). From the TGR crew, former freeride competitors, Sage Cattabriga-Alosa and Johnny Collinson joined runs with Dylan Hood and rookie, Nick McNutt in a blower pow session that graced the Almost Ablaze film.


From the award-winning Movie of the Year – Almost Ablaze – by Teton Gravity Research, multiple athletes kick-started their careers by throwing down in big mountain competitions. This company has the heart, grit, and sense of community the Subaru Freeride Series values. As TGR co-founder Todd Jones said, “The authenticity of our community has always been there but it came down to capturing those moments on film. It’s not about the brands or the awards, it’s about the athletes – the individuals – who make up this amazing family of skiers, friends and visionaries.”

Mountain Sports International has been producing the premier big mountain freeride series for 18 years, and for many athletes, the competitions have propelled them into careers in film and photography. The Powder Awards featured many series veterans. Rachael Burks, one of the main characters in the Pretty Faces film, got her start on the Freesking World Tour from 2003-07.

“Comps were my favorite!” Burks exclaimed. “There’s no way I’d be where I am today if I hadn’t spent years competing on the competitive freeride skiing circuit!

MSI Live produced the live webcast of the Powder Awards. During each of the Subaru Freeride Series stops, the competition will be live webcast from MSI Live as well.

For more coverage, photos, and video from the biggest night in skiing visit PowderAwards.com.


Photo of the Year
Photo: Oskar Enander/Sweetgrass
Eric Hjorleifson
Sentry Lodge, British Columbia

Full Throttle
Cody Townsend

Breakthrough Performer
Nick McNutt

Best Line
Cody Townsend, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Manmade Air
Henrik Harlaut, Oil and Water, Armada

Best Natural Air
Richard Permin, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Powder
Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, Johnny Collinson, Dylan Hood, Nick McNutt, Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research

Best Jib
Phil Casabon, Oil and Water, Armada

Best Female Performance
Angel Collinson, Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research

Best Male Performance
Cody Townsend, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Short
Afterglow, Sweetgrass Productions

Best Editing
Ten and Two, Stept Productions

Best Cinematography
Afterglow, Sweetgrass Productions

Best Documentary
Dream Line, Endlessflow Films

Movie of the Year
Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research

Powder Poll Men
J.P. Auclair
Candide Thovex
Tanner Hall
Sage Cattabriga-Alosa
Seth Morrison
Sean Pettit
Tom Wallisch
Eric Hjorleifson
Henrik Harlaut
Cody Townsend

Powder Poll Women
Ingrid Backstrom
Lynsey Dyer
Michelle Parker
Angel Collinson
Tatum Monod